How Do I Program With the NI-9351 to Ensure that it is SIL 3 Certified?

Updated Dec 15, 2023

Reported In


  • NI-9351
  • NI-9350

Issue Details

I am interested in using the NI-9351 Functional Safety Module. I notice in the description of the product, that it is capable of SIL 3 certification according to IEC 61508. What is SIL 3 certification and IEC 61508? How do I program with it to make sure that it is SIL 3 certified? What documentation does NI have for this?



  • SIL stands for Safety Integrity Level. It is comprised of PFD (Probability of failure on demand) and RRF (Risk Reduction Factor).
  • IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) is a functional safety standard.
  • The table below shows the PFD and RRF requirements for each SIL level as defined in IEC 61508

Programming the Module to SIL 3 Certification

The module can be programmed using our Functional Safety Editor. It is for creating a User Program that can run on the NI 9350 and the NI 9351 module. This is a standalone development environment.

Additional Information

Note: The C Series Functional Safety Modules are no longer sold by NI.