Most VI files have four sections - front panel, block diagram, code, and data. When you save a VI without diagrams, the block diagram portion is removed. The VIs will execute as they did with block diagrams but support of this VI under different LabVIEW versions and Operating Systems (OS) will be drastically reduced.
One of the great features of LabVIEW is that VIs, in general, are not OS or version specific. Every time you save a VI, the block diagram is compiled into machine language on the computer that is saving the VI. This machine language becomes the "code" section of the VI, mentioned above. Machine language is compiled code, and is specific to the particular version of LabVIEW, as well as the OS on which it was compiled.
Based on that information, once a VI is saved without diagrams:
- You can no longer make any editing changes or view the block diagram.
- You cannot open or run the VI on any other version of LabVIEW, older or newer. If you try to do so, you will receive LabVIEW load error code 11: VI version cannot be converted to the current LabVIEW version because it has no block diagram.
- You cannot open or run the VI on any other OS.