Revert LabVIEW Files to a Previous Version

Updated Sep 24, 2018

Reported In

Software

  • LabVIEW

Issue Details

  • Can I use my VI in an older version of LabVIEW?
  • How do I roll back my VI to a previous version of LabVIEW?
  • How can I open a VI in an older version of LabVIEW?
  • I can open a VI in a newer version of LabVIEW, but can't in an older version of LabVIEW, as I get an error saying that the file version is later than the current LabVIEW version. Is there something I can do to open the code in the older version of LabVIEW?

LabVIEW: File version is later than the current LabVIEW Version.
An error occurred loading '<VI name>'.
LabVIEW load error code:9: VI version (<VI version>) is newer than LabVIEW version (<LabVIEW version>).

Solution

To save a VI (and its hierarchy) for a previous version of LabVIEW, you will need to use to a version of LabVIEW greater or equal to the version the VI was initially saved in. For example, to revert a VI created in LabVIEW 2017, you will need to use LabVIEW 2017 or later.
 

LabVIEW 8.0 and later

Follow the LabVIEW help document: Saving for a Previous Version
 

LabVIEW 7.0 and earlier

  1. For the top-level VI in your hierarchy of VIs, select File»Save with Options to display the Save with Options dialog box.
  2. Select Save for Previous to save the VI hierarchy for the previous version.
  3. Click the Save button to display the Choose a Directory dialog box.
  4. Select the directory where you want to save the VI hierarchy.
  5. Click the Save button.
This information is also available in the LabVIEW Help, available by selecting Help » Contents and Index.
 

I do not have the LabVIEW version required

If you do not have a version of LabVIEW capable of opening the VI you want to revert, the Version Conversion section of our forum is an effective way to reach out to the community for help in reverting VI's. See the conversion board rules, posted at the top of the linked page, for guidance on how to have your code converted.
 

Additional Information

  • VIs that have functionality introduced in a later version of LabVIEW cannot fully function in a previous version of LabVIEW where the new functionality does not exist. In this case, when you save the new VI for a previous version, the new functionality will be missing in the older version of the VI. The VIs that do not work will be replaced with VIs containing question marks on the block diagram. 
  • You cannot save VIs in toolkits backwards. This is because toolkits have their own versions, and you can only have a toolkit installed for one version of LabVIEW at a time on a machine.
  • VIs in vi.lib are also not saved for previous versions. There is no need to save a VI to a previous version when that VI already exists in that version. When you save a VI for a previous version of LabVIEW, the vi.lib VIs are not converted, but the reference to that VI will remain. When the VI is then opened up in the previous version of LabVIEW, the newly converted VI links to the vi.lib VI of that version of LabVIEW. This process saves time and disk space. The newly converted VI will function the same using the previous version of the vi.lib VI.
For more detailed information on the ability of each version of LabVIEW to handle VI's created with different versions of LabVIEW, see the tutorial on upgrading or reverting a VI.

WAS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

Not Helpful