Vision Assistant Overwrites Original Image

Updated Oct 3, 2018

Reported In

Software

  • Vision Development Module

Issue Details

In my program, I am performing image processing with the Vision Assistant. I would like to take the original, pre-processed images and save them, but I need to do so after the processing has happened. When I look at the saved files, only the processed images are saving.

How do I save my original images?

Solution

Try wiring a new IMAQ reference to the Image Dst terminal on the Vision Assistant, just under the Image In terminal.

This should leave your pre-processing image intact in the original IMAQ reference.

Additional Information

When you wire your IMAQ reference into the Vision Assistant, rather than passing the actual image, you're passing a reference to a space in memory. By default, the Vision Assistant will save the modified image in this same memory space, overwriting your original image.

Wiring a new IMAQ reference to the Vision Assistant gives the Vision Assistant a new memory location where it can save the modified image. When the output is saved in the new memory location, your original image remains intact.

WAS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

Not Helpful