Software from New License File Shows Up Incorrectly

Updated May 17, 2018

Reported In

Software

  • Volume License Manager 3.0

Issue Details

I recently installed a new License File. When I installed it, a dialog box appeared, saying I needed to transfer permissions for some licenses. However, the new products don't show up as expected when it gives me the option to transfer to certain licenses: the some software packages show up twice, with "Part 1" at the end of one and "Part 2" at the end of the other. Is this expected behavior? How do I transfer permissions properly?

Solution

This is most likely happening due to an old version of Volume License Manager being installed. To fix this, upgrade to VLM 3.1 or newer.

If this doesn't fix the issue, open up the license file to see which products are licensed under Part 1, and which products are under Part 2. Assign permissions to each product accordingly.

Another workaround would be to place users into a group, click "Remove permissions from users" in the Transfer Permissions dialog box, then manually assign the group a license for Part 1 and Part 2 of the software.

Additional Information

The Transfer Permissions dialog box comes up when software packages have been changed or upgraded since the installation of the previous License File.

The reason that the package shows up as two parts is because Enterprise Agreement Software and other large packages are split into two subheadings in the License File. Newer versions of VLM automatically combine these products into single packages, while older versions of VLM still keep them separate.

WAS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

Not Helpful